Crib... or bed?

07.24.2003 at 12:37 p.m.


Last night, instead of letting my baby girl fall asleep in our bed and then moving the sleeping angel to her crib like we have been doing - my husband decided to try to simply put her to bed in her crib... and she cried. And cried, and cried... and he left her momentarily thinking she would tire herself out... and she cried louder, and harder... and he went back... tried to calm her and left again... and went back... now she was soaked with sweat... and crying as loud as her little lungs could handle. So he came back in and told me in a "what do you want me to do...?" voice: "she is soaked..." So I went in and got her. I can't handle when she is crying like that.

She was soaked... and totally, completely, uncontrollably hysterical. I don't know how long exactly it took to calm her down, but it seemed like an eternity. I don't see how anyone could think that would teach a baby to go to sleep. I know that she will never have to go through that again.

Thankfully I have been reading a book that has given me some ideas... but the change obviously won't happen over night. First I am supposed to establish a more defined "routine," not just for bedtime... but for all day. I will hopefully start some on this tonight... but I probably won't start much on the daytime aspect of it until Monday. And we also need to get her to bed earlier. This really stinks because of the timing she "should" be in bed (between 8 and 9pm) means her "bedtime routine" needs to start at 7pm - just after my husband has gotten home from work, eaten dinner and is beginning to settle in. I think it kind of rips him off time wise with her... but then, maybe I can just arrange it so they get up earlier in the mornings for "play" time.

At least I think my husband understands my willingness to let her sleep in our bed though. And at least he knows we are going to start work to change that. Last night he made me feel very good - after she was calmly snoozing away with her head tucked between our pillows and legs spread out so she was touching each of us, he said one very simple thing to me that really made me feel good. He said: "you handled that very well." That made me feel very good - at the time, I was just doing everything I could not to cry right along with her... I can't see her that frantic... it just tears me apart.

Heard in my house:

Something Extra:

Feeling: The current mood of lostinmylove at www.imood.com

Craving:

0 comments so far


< -Last Entry - Next Entry- >






adopt your own virtual pet!







*HUGS* TOTAL! Give lostinmylove more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own


Locations of visitors to this page